Teaching Children to Write Stories

I was visiting my favorite children’s author website: www.georgeshannon.org and discovered a corner of his site is dedicated to one of my favorite topics…teaching children to write stories! George Shannon’s most recent story, Rabbit’s Gift is an allegorical tale perfect for sharing with your favorite little one.

Since I love George Shannon’s wild, wacky, unusual and imaginative use of language to tell stories I was thrilled to see how it shares it by teaching others! Through his author’s website I discovered that he conducts workshops in schools around the country teaching elementary aged children how to tell their stories in words and pictures.

His workshops help teachers and students try out their writing skills, read fun stories and even share their imaginations. I wonder if I can still pass for an over-sized 5th grader? I would love to participate and get caught up again in that age of unbridled imagination and wild creative enthusiasm!

Leave a Reply

